The Cricket World Cup

The Cricket World Cup is the most important cup in the ODI. The first one was organized in England in 1975; The Woman’s World Cup was held in 1973 and is still held every 4 years. The Finals of this cup are played together with all ten tests and ODI contestants along with other nations which qualify for the Cup. Out of all the teams Australia has been the most successful, winning 4 titles.

First world cup was played in 1975, and West Indies won this one. The second one was no different with West Indies winning it in 1979. After the first two occasions, asians took the lead. 1983 cup belongs to India. Australia won their maiden cup in 1987. Pakistan was brilliant under the captaincy of Imran Khan, one of the best cricket captains the world has ever seen, and won the 1992 cup. In 1996, the cup still remained in Asia, and Srilanka emerged as winners. Australia has been ruling the cricket world for the past decade, and has bagged the cup in 1999, 2003 and 2007.

In 2007 the format of cricket changed allowing 16 teams to compete; these teams are divided into 4 groups, each group playing one another in a round robin format. Points are then earned for wins and ties, the top 2 winners of this then advance into a super 8 round, the points are won the same way, each team carrying their points from previous rounds. The final top 4 teams advance on to the semi finals, where the winners of the semi finals move on to the final.

The ICC trophy which is presented to the winner of the cup was created in 1999 and was the first permanent prize awarded. This trophy made of silver and gold features a golden globe which is supported by 3 silver columns, which represent the 3 aspects of cricket, such as batting, bowling and fielding where the globe stands for a cricket ball.

You can get further information on the World Cup by logging onto